Chocolate talk: Meiji Marron bar

20 Apr

I love chestnuts and I love chocolate, so it’s like the perfect marriage of two yum flavours. And then finish it up with some pretty packaging, and that chocolate bar is super-confirmed in my shopping basket. I spotted this tantalising-looking bar in the sweets aisle at Japan Centre a couple of weeks ago, and immediately pounced on it. Could this be the taste sensation I’ve been dreaming of?

Sadly, no. The chocolate tasted like…coffee. Eh? I seriously thought a mistake had been made at the packing stage at the chocolate factory. I strained every tastebud in my tongue and tried to detect any chestnutty taste. My tastebuds said no. On top of that, the chocolate had the waxy taste of cheap chocolate, and left an unpleasant residue in my mouth.

I tried to like you, Meiji Marron chocolate. But sadly, this wasn’t meant to be. You can tempt me with your pretty looks, but I won’t be swayed next time.

Leave a Reply

