Ownself make: Granola

21 Apr

I’ve recently been into pimping up my own muesli, adding nuts and dried fruit to a plain oats base. Much as I love buying granola from the supermarket (I’m partial to the Rude HealthSharpham Park and Dorset ones), I’ve realised it’s much cheaper and healthier to make your own.

Today, I had lots of bits and pieces lying around, and I wanted to free up some pantry space, so I decided to make some granola. The recipe I used as a base is from David Lebovitz (in itself an adaptation of Nigella’s recipe), as it has just the right amount of sweetness and crunch. I took out the sugar from this recipe as I’m trying to consume less sugar overall, and I plan to eat it with fresh fruit. You can always add 1/2 cup light brown sugar to the dry mix. And of course, if cashews or brazil nuts aren’t your thing, you can always substitute with hazelnuts, almonds or any of your favourite nuts.

Granola

Recipe adapted from David Lebovitz

Dry mix:
2 1/2 cups jumbo oats
2 cups rye flakes
1/2 cup untoasted sesame seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup light brown sugar (optional, if you want it sweeter)
3/4 cup cashews
3/4 cup brazil nuts, chopped in half

Wet mix:
1 large apple, peeled and de-seeded
1/2 cup honey
2 tbsp extra virgin mandarin olive oil (walnut or hazelnut oil works too)

  1. Preheat oven to 150 deg c.
  2. Chop apple into little pieces and heat gently in a little saucepan until it becomes a puree.
  3. Add the rest of the wet mix to the apple puree and let heat on low for another few minutes.
  4. In a large bowl, mix all the ingredients from the dry mix together.
  5. Pour the wet mix into the dry mix and stir together, making sure the wet bits are evenly distributed.
  6. Distribute over 2  baking sheets.
  7. Bake at 150 deg c for 45 min. Stir the granola every 10 min to ensure it browns evenly.
  8. Remove and let it cool completely.

Breakfast is served! I nommed a few tablespoonfuls immediately before storing it away.

4 Responses to “Ownself make: Granola”

  1. mrscummingsrx April 21, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Yum! This looks great! That stuff gets so spendy!!

    • Jia April 21, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

      Thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s a Good Friday « Jiak jiak - April 23, 2011

    […] like I should have hot cross buns for breakfast, but I rilly rilly wanted some of my ownself make granola. Eaten with blueberries, sliced banana, and natural […]

  2. A quiet Saturday « Jiak jiak - April 30, 2011

    […] Homemade granola with natural yogurt and blueberries […]

Leave a Reply

