Sunday: Nopi, Poppy King & Michael Franti

4 Jul


A very varied day, starting out with church, a very civilised lunch at Nopi, a little shopping (new Poppy King lipgloss from Boots….I might have found the perfect red!) and finishing up at a very hot but super fun gig at Bush Hall to see Michael Franti & Spearhead. It didn’t matter that I didn’t know most of the songs as they were so easy to sing along. Makes me want to break out my ooold Chocolate Supa Highway album.

Breakfast


Had a much bigger breakfast than I wanted. I thought I could finish my loaf of bread in one sitting, but turns out I could have saved half for another day.

– Matcha marble shoku pan with Nutella and Manuka honey
– Orange & strawberries

Lunch




Is Nopi my new favourite restaurant to bring friends from out of town? It may well be. I had to go with a couple of  dishes I’d tried before because I loved them so much. The new dish we ordered, rabbit pastilla, was gorgeous – tender flavoursome meat inside, light filo pastry on the outside. I’ll leave the adventurous ordering to another time…

– Shakshuka
– Chargrilled broccolini with skordalia and chili
– Sea bream with tamarind relish
– Rabbit pastilla

Nopi
21 Warwick Street
Piccadilly
London W1B 5NE

Late afternoon


M is in love with the berries here, so instead of dessert, we went to the M&S food hall along Oxford Street and I picked up a sizzling fruit salad (strawberries, blueberries, orange, melon, pineapple). So refreshing for summer.

Dinner


The prawns, squid & chorizo with salad sounded wonderful on the menu, but when it arrived, I was disappointed. For a large, this was a tiny portion, and the seafood pieces were rather puny and not very exciting. Meh.

Queen Adelaide
412 Uxbridge Road
Shepherd’s Bush Market
London W12 0NR

2 Responses to “Sunday: Nopi, Poppy King & Michael Franti”

  1. José Dominguez July 5, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    The Queen Adelaide seems to have changed a fair bit since my days in Shepherds Bush. Are Pork Scratchings still on the menu?

    • Jia July 5, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      Nope, didn’t see those on the menu. The food’s all very gastro-pubby, which isn’t a bad thing if they cooked things well. Shame, because it looks like a nice, civilised place among the 1,000 fried chicken outlets.

Leave a Reply

