To the Proms

19 Jul

One of the rare times I get out for a classical concert. A great programme of Weber, Brahms and Stravinsky, with encores of Bizet’s Carmen and the fantastic Passacaglia for violin and cello.

Breakfast


Mixed nuts & seeds, banana, blueberries in Greek-style yogurt

Lunch


– Tesco Finest Moroccan chicken soup
– Broccoli & cauliflower
– 2 Rude Health rice thins

Mid-afternoon

– Mixed nuts & fruit
– 1 Braeburn apple, blueberries & strawberries

Dinner

No picture, as I was surreptitously eating it inside Royal Albert Hall.

– Smoked salmon in black barley salad
– Half oat pecan & cranberry cookie

Gail’s Bakery
45 Thurloe St
South Kensington
London SW7 2LQ 

5 Responses to “To the Proms”

  1. Su-Lin July 20, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    I was at that Prom yesterday too!

  2. Jia July 20, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    What a coincidence! Did you enjoy it? It was my first time listening to the entire Rite of Spring, and actually rather enjoyed it. I need to look out for more of these concerts!

  3. Su-Lin July 20, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    I always love the Rite! Chose it as it was on my birthday too. Got a few more proms to attend still…what else have you got booked. I went to William Tell last Saturday…it was….long.

    I’d highly recommend trying to catch the Rite of Spring when the Royal Ballet performs it…

    • Jia July 22, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      Oh, belated happy birthday to you! What a lovely way to spend the day. 🙂 No I haven’t picked any other concerts – there wasn’t another one where I loved the entire programme. I’ll be looking out for the Proms next year though!

      Yes I do want to catch the Rite of Spring in ballet. My sister saw it when she was here a couple of months ago and she said it was…interesting. Haha.

      • Su-Lin July 26, 2011 at 11:52 am #

        It’s certainly modern but it’s outstanding. Tamara Rojo in the role as the chosen one is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

